This research by Whydo is supported by our readers. We may earn a commission when you purchase through our links. Learn more
Are Sour Patch Kids Vegan?
Let Us Know More About Your Favorite Candy!
So, are sour patch kids vegan? Candies are an exciting part of everyone’s childhood. Even adults cannot deny enjoying them. But some contain artificial ingredients, which are concerning for many.
Even some of the most popular brands contain questionable ingredients. So, many people are now turning vegan to lead a healthier lifestyle and are sacrificing some of their favorite candies as they contain animal ingredients. So, today we are on a voyage to find if the famous sour patch kids are vegan-friendly or not.
What Are Sour Patch Kids Candy?
The chewy candy is an all-time favorite in countries like the US, UK, France, and others. However, with the surge in the vegan culture, people are worried if they will be able to enjoy their favorite candy any longer.
Years of revision have made these candies a well-known sweet treat for kids and adults. They have been around for five decades and were initially called ‘Mars Men.’ They are popular in France as ‘Very Bad Kids.’
Variants of Sour Patch Kids
It is available in the sour patch watermelon variant or the sour punch straws. The candies have almost the same ingredients as other popular sour candies and contain natural and artificial flavors.
Why Is the Vegan Community Interested in Sour Patch Kids?
People leading a vegan lifestyle may wonder about the ingredients of the sour patch kids. They have listed both natural flavors and artificial flavors like fruit juice and glucose syrup which are considered vegan. But the processing of the candies may not be suitable for strict vegans.
Vegan enthusiasts who are also sour candy lovers may be skeptical of consuming chewy treats as most of them have gelatin as an ingredient, which is not vegan-friendly.
Finding alternatives in the arena of sour candies can be difficult. People who follow a vegan diet thus turn to the original sour patch kids to support their plant-based lifestyle and enjoy a sour candy simultaneously. But are sour patch kids vegan?
What Are Sour Patch Kids Made Of?
The sour patch kids sold contains several ingredients like malic acid, citric acid, sugar, natural and artificial flavor, and artificial colors. Their smell reminds one of the citrus fruits, as most flavors match plant-based ingredients. The sweet taste is due to the sugar coating on the outer surface.
Ingredients in Sour Patch Kids
Sugar/invert sugar: Sugar derived from typical sugarcane plants is the primary ingredient for the sweetness of these candies. Some sugar suppliers even use inverted sugar, a syrup constituting a combination of fructose and dextrose extracts.
Corn syrup: Corn syrup is yet another fully plant-based vegan ingredient essential to these candies.
Tartaric Acid: The typical sour taste is due to tartaric acid. Combined with other acids, like malic acid or citric acid, it produces a well-balanced tangy and sour flavor.
Artificial Colors: To make distinct flavors, manufacturers sometimes choose artificial colors to denote the variety of candies available.
Modified corn starch: Starch treated with heat or acid, known as the modified corn starch, gives it a gummy-like consistency.
Several other ingredients can create uniqueness in the sour patch kids’ ingredients. Some manufacturers may even use the paprika extract to create a different flavor for these gummy candies.
Are Sour Patch Kids Vegan?
The sour patch kids have several ingredients contributing to its sweet and tangy taste. The savory flavor is a product of a combination of tartaric acid and citric acid. In addition, things like corn syrup or beet sugar help with the sweetness of the candies and make the sour patch kids vegetarian. Some variants of these chewy candies also use cane sugar or organic sugar to add to the sweetness. But, sugar often falls under the list of controversial ingredients and sometimes may contradict the sour patch watermelon vegan status.
Are Sour Patch Kids Kosher?
The company declares that the chewy candy is kosher, but they do not comply with Kosher regulations.
Are Sour Patch Kids Halal?
Mondelez, the company which owns sour patch kids, confirms that the candies do not contain any ingredients like gelatin or alcohol that may go against Islamic law.
Why Does Sour Patch Not Count Vegan?
There is much controversy regarding sugar, but one cannot deny it is a plant-based item. The sweetness of the candies is a part of sugar beets or cane sugar. Organic cane sugar is natural, but its processing requires bone char particles which can affect the sour patch kids’ vegan status as the bone char is one of the obvious animal ingredients.
When the companies produce sour patch kids, they do not disclose the information about using bone char on the label, and the customers may be unaware of the sour punch straws’ vegan-friendly status. In addition, almost all variants of the sour patch kids candies, such as the original sour patch kids, sour patch watermelon, sugar patch kids, etc., also use sugar to increase their sweetness. This situation may prompt vegan consumers to look for vegan alternatives to these candies.
Are Sour Patch Kids Gluten-Free?
People also question whether the candies are gluten-free. The answer is yes. They avoid containing ingredients derived from wheat, barley, or rye. Thus, they are entirely gluten-free.
Are all Sour Patch Candies Vegan?
All variants of the candies contain similar ingredients except for the flavors and are therefore vegan.
Vegan Alternatives To Sour Patch Kids
If one is still doubtful of the vegan status of the candies, here are the suitable alternatives for sour patch kids’ candies.
Haribo’s sour rainbow strips – They contain non-controversial ingredients and are therefore many vegans prefer them.
Yumearth – It is a certified vegan alternative to sour patch kid.
Project 7 – They are ideal for health-conscious people as one pack of candy contains only three grams of sugar.
Presently, the sour patch kids have a worldwide customer base, and it is sparking a discussion in the vegan community. Animal-derived ingredients are not something any vegan enthusiast would support, making them more interested in the patch kids’ candies.
It also does not support animal testing and animal cruelty. However, plain sugar and artificial colors may be a reason for vegans not opting for sour punch straws. Therefore, the perception of the candies being vegan depends on the consumer. Otherwise, the sour patch candies are vegan and suitable for everyone.