This research by Whydo is supported by our readers. We may earn a commission when you purchase through our links. Learn more
Are Corn Flakes Gluten-Free?
Is Your Breakfast Cereal Healthy?
So, are corn flakes gluten free? Most people love to have a bowl of their favorite cereal first thing in the morning. They are delicious, filling, and are the right way to start a day.
Corn flakes are a trendy breakfast item. As they come from corn, they usually are gluten-free, which also makes them a healthy option. Unfortunately, a few brands fail to stick to the claim and add malt extract that contains gluten. So if you are on a mission to lead a perfectly healthy lifestyle, it is best to do your research before choosing your breakfast cereal.
Why Is All This Important to Know?
It is a good habit to exclude gluten from your diet. However, for some people, it is necessary to avoid gluten as either they are intolerant or have celiac disease, a digestive and immune disorder.
So they need to know whether their favorite corn flakes cereals are gluten-free.
People around the globe swear by a gluten-free diet. It helps keep many skin and digestive disorders at bay. If you have decided to become a healthy being, you should follow it too.
Let’s help you take your first step today. Check for the gluten-free cereal list below and jump on the healthy bandwagon.
Are Corn Flakes Gluten-Free?
The answer is, yes, they should be as they come from corn. But not all are gluten-free corn flakes.
Gluten is a type of protein that is present in barley, grain, rye, oats, and some other cereals.
So What Does Corn Flakes Made Of?
Corn flakes usually contain yellow corn flour, malted barley flour, milled corn meal, grain corn flour, buckwheat flour, flax seeds, cane sugar, and salt. In addition, vitamins and minerals such as niacinamide, vitamin B6, vitamin B2/riboflavin, vitamin B1, folic acid, vitamin D3, vitamin B12, and in some cases, other gluten-containing ingredients like malt flavoring are also present in it.
But remember that not every Kellogg’s corn needs to flake cereal, kosher corn flakes, or any gluten-free label that make a claim is, in fact, gluten-free.
Are Kellogg’s Corn Flakes Gluten-Free?
Kellogg’s cornflakes are the favorite choice of many. But unfortunately, all its variants are not completely gluten-free. The gluten variant of Kellogg’s is available in over 150 countries.
It contains barley malt extract. Even though barley is a gluten-free whole grain, the variant also has corn.
But Kellogg’s Does Have a Gluten-Free Alternative as Well
You don’t need to be disheartened. Kellogg’s has some gluten-free options as well. They have two gluten-free corn flakes product chain that screams perfection.
Kellogg’s Gluten-free corn flakes
This one by Kellogg’s is a gluten-free option. It is made of corn, sugar, and salt and packed with the goodness of multiple vitamins and minerals.
Kellogg’s Gluten-free special k Corn flakes
This one is the newest version of Kellogg’s gluten-free corn flakes. It is different from the other option because the primary ingredient of this one is whole grain brown rice, sugar, salt, and emulsifier, along with several vitamins and minerals.
They are crunchy and delicious as the original gluten ones. That means you don’t have to choose between healthy and tasty.
Sadly, Kellogg’s limited these two products to only a few countries.
Are Aldi Corn Flakes Gluten-Free?
Aldi is a certified gluten-free cornflakes brand. It is ideal for people with gluten intolerance.
It is one of the most popular gluten-free cereals in Australia. It is also an affordable option.
The ingredients used in this product are maize, sugar, salt, barley malt extract, iron, niacinamide, pantothenic acid, vitamin B6, riboflavin, thiamin, folic acid, vitamin D, and vitamin B12.
It is a vegan cereal that is free from wheat, making it even better.
Are Frosted Corn Flakes Gluten-Free?
Yes, frosted flakes are also gluten-free. It is made of cane sugar, corn meal, and salt. Its sweet flavor makes it a perfect breakfast option for kids.
But you don’t need to worry as it has only 8 grams of sugar per 30 grams of serving. So frosted flakes are not harmful to your children.
You can mix it with almond or coconut milk if you follow a dairy-free diet.
Are Kroger Corn Flakes Gluten-Free?
No. Kroger toasted cereal corn flakes are not gluten-free. Like any other gluten-containing food, this one also has wheat products, gluten-containing grains, corn, and other derivatives.
So it might not be the best option for gluten-sensitive people. Try to avoid the cereal if you have gluten sensitivity.
Though it is pretty at the top among other non-gluten-free cornflakes, don’t worry; you can find plenty of gluten-free versions on the market.
Which Corn Flakes Are Gluten-Free?
Even though Kellogg’s is a famous corn flakes brand, it is not the only one. Plenty of other gluten-free corn flake alternatives are readily available in the market. So let’s check them out.
Nature’s Path Corn Flakes
Nature’s Path corn flakes have all organic ingredients. In addition, it has fruit juice such as grape juice and pear juices as an alternative to sugar syrup.
And because of this, formulating the corn flakes look slightly different than your usual ones.
They are less sweet, confirming that they have natural fruit juices. So if you have diabetes, you can consume them without worrying.
Nature’s path is also labeled gluten-free and is non-GMO certified by the Gluten-free certification organization.
Gluten-Free General Mills Corn Chex Cereals
Other than the wheat Chex, this brand also has some other options. Some are rice Chex, maize Chex, honey nut, chocolate Chex, cinnamon, vanilla, and even blueberry flavoring chex.
They are free from any chemical ingredients, such as colors, gluten-containing flavoring, and preservatives.
Nature’s Path’s Mesa Sunrise
This is the perfect gluten-free breakfast bowl.
Some of its ingredients are cornmeal, corn flour, buckwheat flour, quinoa, amaranth, flax seed omega-3, etc.
Apart from being gluten-free, it is also low on calories. So it won’t interfere with your food intolerances as well as calorie intake.
Golden Turmeric Cereal by Nature’s Path
The cereal has yellow corn flour, honey, turmeric, sea salt, vanilla, cardamon, etc.
It is an environment-friendly cereal as its box is made of recyclable materials. So it is healthy for your body as well as good for the environment.
To give it a sweeter taste, it has natural honey in it.
This gluten-free corn flake is made of non-GMO white corn grits, organic fruit juices such as black carrot juice concentrate, blueberry flavoring, pear juice, malted syrup, malt vinegar, and so on. All of these make it the perfect option for a dairy-free diet.
Final Words – Are corn flakes gluten free?
Maintaining a gluten-free diet may be difficult as it is a task to find proper alternatives to food products. Fortunately, that is not the case with cereals. There are plenty of gluten-free options, apart from the famous Kellog’s corn flakes.
We have tried to cover most of them for people who follow a gluten-free diet. But some of them are perfect if you are a vegan too. So, now you can ditch the worry and enjoy your favorite cereal every morning.