This research by Whydo is supported by our readers. We may earn a commission when you purchase through our links. Learn more
Are Rice Krispies Gluten-Free?
So, Are Healthy Snacks Really Healthy?
So, are rice krispies gluten free? Trying to figure out how to start a gluten-free diet is like learning a different lifestyle. Some items, such as wheat, bread, and most pasta varieties, are not gluten-free. However, other items covertly contain gluten. Things you wouldn’t often anticipate, such as Rice Krispies, flavor blends, or chicken broth! In addition to the staples like flour, maize, and rye, many additional foods in your diet could also contain gluten.
Rice Krispies is a portion of everyday food and morning essentials for many people worldwide. Rice, the primary ingredient in these Krispies, is naturally gluten-free. Certain varieties, however, include chemicals and components that could contain gluten. For instance, Kellogg’s Rice Krispies contain malt syrup, a sweetener with gluten.
Barley is a cereal that naturally contains gluten, much like wheat and rye. Therefore, people with gluten sensitivity should avoid barley-based goods like malt syrup. Likewise, Rice Krispies and store-bought Rice Krispies snacks are off-limits if you’re on a gluten-free diet.
Are Rice Krispies Gluten-Free?
While not all rice cereals contain gluten, rice itself is inherently gluten-free. Malt syrup, which comes from barley, is presently used to make Kellogg’s Rice Krispies. The firm once produced a certified gluten-free variant of the cereal; however, it was discontinued in 2015. The malt flavoring in Rice Krispies is why you can’t classify it as gluten-free.
The grain barley, which contains gluten, is the source of malt. Therefore, if rice cereal has a malt flavor or a barley derivative, it is not gluten-free. However, several different companies make crispy rice cereal that is certified gluten-free.
Doctors recommend a gluten-free diet for those with celiac disease, gluten sensitivity, or the skin condition dermatitis herpetiformis. In addition, a gluten-free diet may benefit people who suffer from inflammatory bowel disease, gluten intolerance, type 1 diabetes, and HIV-associated enteropathy.
Beyond this, there isn’t any proof that an allergen-free diet has unique health advantages. However, depending on the gluten-free foods you select, how frequently you consume them, or if your other food selections are healthy, a gluten-free meal can be an excellent choice. According to studies, commercially manufactured gluten-free foods differ nutritionally from those containing gluten.
How Much Gluten Is in Rice Krispies Cereal?
Always read the ingredient list to locate goods that are free of gluten, and choose products that come along with a certification. Although, Rice Krispies are not gluten-free as it contains all kind of contents that are rich in gluten and may cause severe gluten sensitivity to the one who is eating them.
Always check the nutrition label carefully when looking for crisped rice cereals devoid of gluten. Wheat, wheat starch, rye flour, and wheat protein are specific components that suggest a food may contain gluten. In addition, other ingredients like rye\ssemolina, the three forms of barley: flakes, flour, and malt, malt extract, syrup, vinegar, and flavoring made from malt, bulgur, graham flour, durum, show that the product contains gluten.
The rice Krispies generally contain 20 ppm of gluten. So, we can say that one can term no such Rice Krispies as having zero gluten content.
To consider a gluten-free product depends on the perception of an individual. Some people who follow a gluten-free diet consume a product that contains less than 20 parts of gluten. On the other hand, even that amount of gluten is a big no-no.
Are Kellogg’s Rice Krispies Treats Gluten-Free?
Rice Krispy Treats, also known as Rice Bubbles, is a well-known crisp rice cereal and marshmallow square delicacy made by Kellogg’s. Kellogg Rice Krispy Treats are incredibly popular and can even be produced at home using the Rice Krispies cereal.
Rice Krispies from Kellogg’s are not marked gluten-free since they are prepared using malt containing gluten.
Vitamins C, E, niacinamide, vitamin B oleate, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), folic acid, thiamin hydrochloride (vitamin B1), riboflavin (vitamin B2), vitamin B12 (as cyanocobalamin), iron, and malt flavor are also included in Rice Krispies.
Which Brands of Rice Krispies Are Gluten-Free?
Let’s look at the rice Krispies with zero gluten content.
Gluten-free Rice Crisp Cereal from One Degree Organic Foods
They are incredibly light in sweetness, crispy, and have grains that have been sprouted, which some people believe is healthy for the digestive system.
The following additional information about One Degree:
Package Weight: 8 ounces
You should budget $4.25 as the price.
Availability: Both Target.com and Vitacost.com carry this brand of cereal. Although it is available on Amazon.com, the costs are a little high.
There are no additional common allergens, although it is processed at a facility that processes dairy, soy, and tree nuts.
The product contains unrefined salt, tocopherols, organic coconut sugar, and sprouted whole grain brown rice (vitamin E).
Organic GF Brown Rice Crisp Cereal from Barbara
For a long time, Barbara’s cereal brand said it was “wheat-free” and wasn’t necessarily gluten-free. Although this brown rice cereal claims to be gluten-free, it isn’t manufactured in a facility specifically designed for that purpose. The grain’s validated gluten content is less than 20 ppm, per the packaging. The cereal has a smooth texture and stays crispy in milk.
The following information relates to Barbara’s:
Package weight: 10 ounces.
Expect to pay a price of $4.85.
None of the other common allergens are present in it.
Ingredients: organic brown rice with healthy grains.
GF Sprout & Shine Cereal from Back to Nature
Given that the grains are wrinkled and manufactured with fairly standard sugar, this cereal is likely the most similar to Kellogg’s. Although it states on the packaging that they are “batch-cooked.” Before cooking, the brown rice granules are germinated or allowed to grow. However, based on what we’ve observed, the pricing is a little higher than some of the competitors.
The following information on Back to Nature is provided:
Package weight: 10 ounces.
You should budget $5.25 for this.
Ingredients present in the product are corn syrup, sea salt, and germinated whole grain brown rice.
Is Puffed Rice the Same as Crisp Rice?
Puffed rice is a crispy delicacy that is a mainstay of Asian and Indian munchies. It uses partially cooked, air/heat dried, processed, thermally processed, and then air-popped rice kernels. The popping process enlarges, crisps, and lightens the puffed rice grains.
Puffed rice’s nutritional worth differs from plain rice because the air popping process modifies its look and texture. It also has a fair quantity of proteins in it. As a result, it may also help in weight loss. Typically, professional food processors steam the grains of rice to add moisture to it. Home cook recipes usually call for cooking the rice before curing it in a medium-heated oven. The top of the rice is dried in the oven while the inside moisture is preserved. The popping process is induced by subjecting the damp rice grains to intensified heat.
Thus, steam-conditioned kernels may be heated in an oven or with oil to produce puffed rice. This type of puffed rice is referred to as “Rice Krispie.”
Final Words – Are Rice Krispies Gluten Free?
It’s crucial to carefully read the ingredient list on gluten-free items or gluten-containing grains and search for brands that have received certification. Although there are many variations of gluten-free cereal or snacks, some of them, like Kellogg’s Rice Krispies, include malt syrup, which contains gluten.
It is best to do your research if you are sensitive to gluten. Accidental consumption of any gluten-containing product may lead to allergies or other serious issues. In addition, it is a good habit to know about food items that are a daily part of your life. So, if you are a fan of Rice Krispies, you now know whether to stick to the traditional rice Krispies treats or to reach out to famous brands.