This research by Whydo is supported by our readers. We may earn a commission when you purchase through our links. Learn more


Is Whiskey Gluten-Free?

Whiskey And Gluten; Are Not A Nice Combo!

Related Questions

So, Is whiskey gluten free? With its name derived from an Irish word meaning “water of life,” whisky has gained worldwide popularity.

Manufacturers create whiskey from many grains and grain combos, with wheat, rye, barley, and corn being the most popular. However, there are many more variations, including bourbon and Scotch.

Manufacturers use an oak barrel aging procedure to mature the alcohol that results from the distillation process. However, even though manufacturers make many varieties using gluten-containing grains, the drink is often assumed to be gluten-free because of the distillation process.

During this procedure, distillation turns fermented mash into alcohol by heating it to a vapor and then condensing it again from the fermented grain combination. To remove the gluten, you need to remove the solids as well.

Although some questions remain about the beverage’s gluten-free status,

We have addressed the question of whether all whiskey is gluten-free in this article.

So, without any further ado, let’s jump right into it!

Is Whiskey Gluten-Free?

Is Whiskey Gluten-Free?
Is Whiskey Gluten-Free?


Even though manufacturers make whiskey from wheat, barley, or rye, whiskey is gluten-free. However, manufacturers still distill it from the grains from the original whiskey.

According to Beyond Celiac, consuming whiskey while adhering to a gluten-free diet is safe. However, rye, barley, and wheat are all cereals containing gluten. During the distillation process, the gluten is extracted from the alcohol, resulting in a gluten-free product.

Even though we do not consider whiskey to contain gluten, there have been reports of individuals having negative responses to this alcoholic beverage. If you are new to whiskey, proceed with caution, and if you have any adverse effects, note the brands that cause them so that you can steer clear of them in the future.

As a result of the distillation process, it is quite feasible to partake in whiskey consumption while adhering to a gluten-free diet.

Whiskey Labeled Gluten-Free

Alcohols distilled from gluten-free ingredients, such as vodka made from potatoes and whiskey made from sorghum, are the best option for individuals. They are especially good for people who must steer clear of traditional whiskies and grain alcohols due to the uncomfortable side effects of consuming these alcoholic beverages. You can consider a whiskey “gluten-free” if manufacturers make it using gluten-free ingredients and without gluten-containing additions.

People who have celiac disease can consume these drinks with full assurance. That’s because they are gluten-free from the beginning to the end, instead of having their gluten content removed during the distillation process.

Can Coeliacs Drink Whiskey?

It is possible to utilize containing gluten grains as an ingredient in spirit production. However, because manufacturers distill all spirits throughout the production process, there is no trace of gluten in the final product. Therefore, all alcoholic beverages are safe for celiac disease patients to consume.

What Whiskey Is Gluten-Free?

What Whiskey Is Gluten-Free?
What Whiskey Is Gluten-Free?

There are gluten-free whiskeys available if you have sensitivities to grain-based whiskeys or are concerned about how much gluten remains after the distillation process.

You can use gluten-free grains like millet, sorghum, and corn to make whiskeys and bourbons.

Many gluten-free options of whiskeys are available, like as

  • Hudson Baby Bourbon: made from 100% corn
  • James F.C. Hyde Sorgho Whiskey: made from 100% sorghum
  • Koval Bourbon Whiskey: made from 100% corn and millet mix
  • Koval Millet Whiskey: made from 100% millet
  • New Southern Revival Sorghum Whiskey: made from 100% sorghum
  • Queen Jennie Sorghum Whiskey: made from 100% sorghum
  • S.S. Sorghum Whiskey: made from 100% sorghum

Local distilleries that only utilize gluten-free grains may also be found depending on where you live, so keep an eye out for those!

Some distilleries can make gluten-containing alcoholic beverages. However, getting in touch with the distillery directly is always a good idea if you’re concerned about cross-contamination.

Is Single Malt Whiskey Gluten-Free?

Is Single Malt Whiskey Gluten-Free?
Is Single Malt Whiskey Gluten-Free?

Barley, a gluten-containing grain, is typically used to make Malt. However, we do not consider Malt suitable for a gluten-free diet if the manufacturer has not distilled it. Instead, most pure whiskey is distilled and deemed gluten-free, as manufacturers remove gluten from the alcohol.

Is Rye Whiskey Gluten-Free?

Is Rye Whiskey Gluten-Free?
Is Rye Whiskey Gluten-Free?

In contrast to beer, rye whiskey is virtually always considered gluten-free.

Because of the distillation process, which removes gluten from the whiskey, this is the case.

Although it is gluten-free, manufacturers cannot label it because they make it with gluten-containing components.

However, people particularly sensitive to gluten may have an adverse reaction to the whiskey’s minuscule levels.

As a result, if you have celiac disease and enjoy whiskey, you should continue with caution.

Because of the recent surge in popularity of the gluten-free diet, several grains have come under scrutiny to discover whether or not they contain gluten. Wheat is the gluten-containing grain that people avoid the most, but there are other grains that some individuals need to stay away from as well.

Rye is a grain closely related to wheat and barley. Manufacturers often use them to produce baked foods, certain brews, and liquors, as well as fodder for animals.

Some gluten-free options

Even though rye includes gluten, You may eat several other grains without worrying about cross-contamination.

Sorghum, Amaranth, buckwheat, and teff are a few examples of gluten-free grains with a taste profile that is most comparable to rye.

You may buy them at the store as either whole grains or flours to use in baking.

Bread made with these flours may be given a taste of conventional rye bread by including caraway seeds in the recipe.

The supply of gluten-free bread has increased. Hence, some firms have begun manufacturing gluten-free fake rye bread that delivers a taste comparable to typical loaves.

By substituting these delicious grains for rye in a gluten-free diet, you may make the diet less strict and even more pleasurable for yourself.

Is Skrewball Whiskey Gluten-Free?

Is Skrewball Whiskey Gluten-Free?
Is Skrewball Whiskey Gluten-Free?


Even when manufactured using wheat, barley, or rye, Skrewball whiskey does not contain gluten. However, the distillation process makes Skrewball whiskeys acceptable for celiac disease patients. But, after distillation, the manufacturer can add flavorings and other additives, increasing the risk of gluten contamination.

Skrewball Peanut Butter Whiskey is vegan and gluten-free, which is great news for health-conscious drinkers everywhere.

Is Jameson Whiskey Gluten-Free?

Is Jameson Whiskey Gluten-Free?
Is Jameson Whiskey Gluten-Free?

Yes, Jameson is gluten-free. However, because Jameson distills its whiskey thrice, grain residues are eliminated throughout the distillation process. However, in the case of previously distilled whiskeys, this would not be the case.

When it comes to Jameson’s suitability for a gluten-free diet, there are different reports. If you want a gluten-free whiskey, Urban Tastebud suggests avoiding it. But, according to Urban Tastebud’s Guide H.Q. (a website), Jameson IS gluten-free.

Is Jameson Safe For Celiacs?

According to the author’s article in the New Yorker, they don’t recommend Jameson Irish whiskey for people with gluten allergies. Although, Camp Jameson, the company that makes Jameson Irish whiskey, claims that its products are gluten-free.

Is Irish Whiskey Gluten-Free?

Yes, Irish whiskey does not contain gluten. Though the grain used to make whiskey contains gluten, the protein-carrying gluten is not transported through the distillation process, making it safe for people with Celiac disease.

Is Bourbon Whiskey Gluten-Free?


In general, Manufacturers distill gluten-containing grain spirits such as rye and barley into liquor and other forms of gluten-free alcoholic drinks. As a result, we consider them safe for consumption. In addition, the distillation process separates gluten and other types of proteins.

Is Jack Daniels Whiskey Gluten-Free?

If you’re wondering “Is Jack Daniels gluten-free?”, you’ll be happy to know that it is.

In the production of Jack Daniel’s Black Label Tennessee Whiskey, the distillation process eliminates all carbohydrates, gluten, fats, and triglycerides. Jack Daniel’s bourbon has 65 calories in an ounce of liquid.

Is Jim Beam Bourban Whiskey Gluten-Free?

Is Jim Beam Bourban Whiskey Gluten-Free?
Is Jim Beam Bourban Whiskey Gluten-Free?


Because Jim Beam is a distilled beverage, the gluten that would normally be present in alcohol is not present in it.

Is Crown Royal gluten-free?

Is Crown Royal gluten-free?
Is Crown Royal gluten-free?


The pure whiskey made by Crown Royal is safe for gluten-free diets. But, stay away from their different flavors since it is unknown whether or not they contain gluten.

Is Fireball gluten-free?

This cinnamon-flavored whiskey is supposedly gluten-free, at least as per the Fireball brand. We’ve noticed some reports stating that some people have had allergic reactions to this. However, it appears to be a problem with gluten intolerance, not gluten sensitivity. We’re sorry to say that we can’t be more specific. Make your decision considering how sensitive you are and what is best for your body.

Is Seagram’s Gluten-free?

Seagram makes no statements about the presence of gluten in their products. Instead, the Crown flavor is suitable for those adhering to a gluten-free diet, according to the information we could locate on a few gluten-free message boards and forums. However, there was no information on any of their other varieties.

The front labels of their rich honey and cherry flavors state that they are made “with natural flavors.” Sometimes the labeling for natural flavors may advise that the product contains gluten. Thus, in this case, we would probably avoid it.

Is Southern Comfort gluten-free?

Is Southern Comfort gluten-free?
Is Southern Comfort gluten-free?

The Gluten-free Bar contends that Southern Comfort is not gluten-free since it undergoes extra flavor additions after the distilling process. However, people who are sensitive to gluten have said that they were nevertheless able to consume it without any problems.

Final Words – Is Whiskey Gluten Free?

Distilled alcohol, known as whisky, is something manufacturers make from a fermented, gluten-containing grain mash, such as barley.

Many specialists believe that the distilling process renders all whiskey gluten-free.

However, there is no guarantee that the distillation process eliminates all gluten, so some people may still have an adverse reaction. In addition, some flavored varieties may include cross-contamination-inducing or gluten-containing ingredients added after distillation.

Buying a product made from 100% gluten-free grains like corn, millet, or sorghum is the only way to ensure that your whiskey is free from gluten contamination.

And remember, no matter what type of whiskey you consume, have fun with it. So keep to the guidelines and don’t drink more than one standard drink daily for ladies and two for men.

Before you head out to the store to pick up your next whiskey bottle, be on the lookout for hidden gluten in the form of flavorings or additives added after distillation.

If you are adhering to a diet that does not include gluten, we hope you found this information useful. Be very careful if you choose to consume any beverages that contain Malt. There is also gluten-free beer. Do not just rely on what we say.

Before picking a choice, it is important to do an independent study to arrive at a solution that provides you with your level of satisfaction. For example, if you choose to consume whiskey, you should keep a close eye on how your body reacts over the next 24 to 72 hours to ensure that nothing out of the ordinary takes place.

Written by:
Editor-in-Chief and lead author at WhyDo