This research by Whydo is supported by our readers. We may earn a commission when you purchase through our links. Learn more
Are Wontons Gluten-Free?
Bad News for the Wonton Lovers?
Have you ever visited a restaurant that offered an appetizer of delicious wonton soup or fried wontons? They are delicious, and people worldwide like these dumplings. To prepare wontons, we wrap shrimp filling in a delicate wonton wrapper, and then the dumplings are either cooked in soup or fried until crisp.
If you follow a gluten-free diet, you probably already know that you need to check the gluten content of most meals with a wrapper or dough of any type since they often contain wheat.
So we’re going to dive into what wontons are, what they’re made of, and learn everything about Wantons!
Read the article to know!
Are Wontons Gluten-Free?
No, in most cases!
The gluten-free diet does not permit wontons. Instead, the wonton wrappers and the soy sauce used by chefs as filling of wontons in restaurants and even in the frozen section of grocery stores are quite likely to contain gluten because of wheat. On a gluten-free diet, you need to stay away from these foods.
Although we don’t regard wontons to be free of gluten, it is possible to make them gluten-free when preparing them at home on your own.
Finding a reliable gluten-free recipe for wonton wrappers might be difficult. Still, you will need one if you want to prepare classic Chinese dishes like gluten-free dumplings and egg rolls that are both flavorful and satisfying.
Here’s the recipe:
- 1 3/4 cups (245 grams) of all-purpose gluten-free flour blend
- Xanthan gum, one-fourth teaspoon; eliminate if the mix you’re using already has it.
- 35 grams of modified tapioca starch made using Spandex (See Recipe Notes)
- 3 (150g) beaten eggs at room temperature
- 4 tablespoons, or one-quarter cup, of warm water (approximately 85 degrees Fahrenheit), plus more as needed
Make the Dough
- Place gluten-free flour, xanthan gum, and Spandex in the bowl of a stand mixer with the paddle attachment (or in a big bowl with a wooden spoon). Then use a separate handheld whisk to blend the three ingredients thoroughly.
- Make a well in the middle of the dry ingredients, then add the eggs and the warm water. Then mix on medium speed for approximately a minute to blend until sticky dough forms (or with the wooden spoon for at least 2 minutes).
- The dough must be able to hold its shape. If any areas of the dough are crumbly, continue adding the remaining warm water, one teaspoon at a time, until the dough can be squished together in your hands without falling apart.
- Increase the speed of the mixer to medium-high and beat the mixture for three to four minutes, or until it is smooth (or by hand with a wooden spoon for at least twice as long).
- The texture of the dough ought to be silky and malleable. If it is firm, try adding a few more drops of water and working it in until it becomes flexible. It should be mostly slightly sticky but smooth almost all the way through.
Let the Dough Relax for a While
- Place the dough on a sheet of plastic wrap, wrap it up as tightly as you can, and then let it rest at room temperature for approximately ten minutes. The dough will absorb additional water, and any stickiness that may still be there should disappear as a result.
Form the Wrappers Into Shape
- Unwrap the dough, cut it in half, and then replace one half of it in the plastic wrap and wrap it up firmly so that the other side does not dry out.
- Lightly flour the surface, put the other half of the dough on a surface, sprinkle it with a little more flour, and roll it out into a rectangle about a quarter of an inch thick.
- Flip and move the dough around often to keep it from clinging to the surface. If required, sprinkle very lightly with more flour to allow for movement.
- If you want the edges of the rectangle to be even, you may trim them with a pizza wheel, a pastry cutter, or a sharp knife. Then, take off, collect the garnishes, and put them to the side.
- Roll out the rectangle until it has an approximate thickness of one-eightieth of an inch, using pressure that is even and steady but not harsh. Slice into 3-inch squares.
- You might instead cut the rectangle that is 1/4 inch thick into squares that are 1 1/2 inches and then roll each square out uniformly in all directions until it has a double surface area and a thickness of 1/8 inch.
- Steam or fry your homemade gluten-free wonton or add it to your gluten-free wonton soup and Enjoy!
Is Wonton a Wheat or Rice?
Wrappers for store-bought wontons normally consist of enriched white or whole-wheat flour, egg, water, and sometimes salt. Chefs also use this mixture for Asian egg noodles.
You may often find wonton wrappers in the vegetable area of your local supermarket, kept close to other Asian ingredients.
Are Wonton Wrappers Gluten Free?
Traditional wonton wrappers purchased in shops or restaurants do not adhere to the gluten-free diet since they contain wheat flour or wheat gluten.
Suppose you prepare your wonton wrappers at home. In that case, you have the flexibility to quickly replace wheat flour or wheat gluten with an item that does not contain gluten.
If you want to create gluten-free wontons at home, you can also look for gluten-free wonton wrappers online or in local supermarkets. There are a few different brands of gluten-free wonton wrappers.
Are Wonton Fillings Gluten-Free?
Because most wonton fillings include soy sauce, it is safe to presume they do not contain gluten. This is the case for the vast majority of wonton fillings. Because wheat is one of the ingredients of traditional Chinese soy sauce, using it while adhering to a gluten-free diet is not recommended.
If you create your wontons at home, you may use tamari soy sauce instead of the regular soy sauce instead of the conventional soy sauce. Tamari soy sauce has a flavor virtually identical to Chinese soy sauce; however, since this Japanese kind does not include any wheat components, it is free of gluten.
Are Wonton Chips Gluten-Free?
The dough for wonton chips generally contains flour, egg, salt, and water and is rolled to a thickness of paper.
Are Fried Wontons Gluten-Free?
If you do not have appropriate wonton sheets, you may sometimes use egg roll wrappers as a substitute. However, this is only a viable option if you want to fry or pan-fry the wontons.
Therefore, fried wontons also have gluten.
Are Chinese Wontons Gluten-Free?
Traditional Chinese wonton wrappers contain wheat flour, eggs, and water. These ingredients are combined to create a dough that may be wrapped around various fillings and then fried or cooked in soup. That is not an option for anyone who avoids gluten in their diet.
Gluten-Free Wonton Wrapper Brands
There are a few gluten-free wonton wrappers available, but there aren’t that many. So here are some that you may look for the next time you’re at the shop, or you can look for them online via the brand’s website or another online retailer.
You can also look for them in the following phrases. You can buy gluten-free flours, rice wrappers, or Wonton Wrap Mix By Mom’s Place, which contains sorghum flour, brown rice flour, cornstarch, potato starch, xanthan gum, sugar, and salt. This mix does not include gluten.
Final Words – Are Wontons Gluten Free?
So, wantons are generally not gluten-free as they have wheat flour as the main ingredient. This article has all pieces of information about wontons. We hope you found your answer.